Puffin Coffee – coffee shop out of home to raise money for Autism research

Sverrir Rolf Sander runs a coffee shop from his home in Reykjavik where he serves coffee through his window (Baldursgata 26). All the coffee that is served is donated from local coffee shops and all the proceeds (money that clients choose to donate) is given to charity. Sverrir decided to donate the earnings to support research on Autism. Here is a description of the project on his website (http://www.puffincoffee.com)

For me, coffee is filled with love, so that’s why Puffin Coffee is run here right outside my kitchen window. It all started when I signed up for an ultra marathon bike ride for the UK charity Ambitious About Autism, which focuses on autism aid. On September 7th, I’ll be biking 220 miles from Manchester to London.
Part of the deal for me to take part is that I have to raise £750 for the charity. That’s where Puffin Coffee comes in. Technically I’m not selling anything outside my window. I make coffee because I love it, and you drink coffee because you love it, and then you can donate however much you’d like to Ambitious About Autism, a cause close to my heart. My best friend’s son is diagnosed with autism, and as a psychology student, I’m passionate about research into the causes of this developmental disorder.
It’s coffee for a good cause, and sometimes I can even throw in a muffin or cookie if my grandma has stopped by to drop off a batch. Thank you for coming by online, and I hope to see you at my window!

A local artist named Dúnn draws different images on each cup – you can find images of the cups on Instagram (#puffin coffee). When I went on the I Heart Reykjavik tour (http://www.tours.iheartreykjavik.net/the-i-heart-reykjavik-walking-tour/), Auður said that it was becoming quite hip to pose with your Puffin Coffee cup and post the photo to Instagram!

Various members of the community also bring baked goods for Sverrir to hand out with the coffee (including his own grandmother who bakes the “puffin muffins” seen in the bottom photo).

Check it out and support a great cause!

10626840_723628344400943_9158572227497726910_n

1520642_713323275431450_2376648281801797054_n

BvuqnndIYAEx_-G

BuXS0i6IcAEKBBG

Leave a Reply

